Congratulations to Darren Mahaffy, on being awarded the…..

Mike Landucci Development Award – Officiating.

Darren has served the Surrey Female Hockey Association since 2014. He got into officiating as an adult and has spent his officiating career in service to the game.

During his time as Referee-in-Chief with Surrey Female, the Association has produced female officials who continue to officiate as adults.

Darren is a credit to the program and is a dedicated volunteer for Surrey Female Hockey Association.

Congratulations to Gary Mizuno, recipient of the…

Volunteer Executive Award (Presented by BC Hockey Life Members)

Gary has led the Surrey Female Hockey Association for the past three (3) years as president and for several years previously as treasurer and coach coordinator. He is a humble person and would not seek the limelight for his accomplishments but deserves recognition for his commitment to growing the game and the Association.

As President, Gary has been focused on growing our registration base while improving our overall commitment to players and their families.

Gary has led an organization that is substantially on the rise in the Lower Mainland. His focus on development, partnership, public relations, advocacy, and organizational health is at the core of why this has been a success.

WE have been awarded the…

Frank Spring Minor Hockey Association of the year award.

Surrey Female Hockey Association had several major highlights this past season including:

Registration numbers have increased from 176 registrants in 2014 to 264 registrants in 2019, a 50 per cent increase over five (5) years.

Surrey Female runs one of the most sought after and successful tournaments in BC. The annual WickFest tournament, in partnership with Hayley Wickenheiser’s organization, brings over 75 teams to Surrey at the start of February each year. This year the tournament grew by over 20 per cent with the addition of ice at the new North Surrey Arena.

Never in their history have Falcon teams raised so many banners in a single season (11 of a possible 36). Further, during the past two (2) seasons the Bantam A (2019) and Pee Wee A (2018) teams won BC Hockey Championships.

The organization has grown in number of registrants, quality of performance of players and commitment to the game through community engagement and the officiating program.


We are extremely grateful for Darren and Gary’s dedication and efforts to provide an impactful experience to our members. Of course, a congratulations to all of us as well and all of our volunteers that continue to develop and grow the association & players to be the best we can be.


For the original post from BC Hockey please see: