Dear Members,


The last 6-8 weeks have been a whirlwind as playoffs and provincials returned after a one year hiatus due to COVID. The Surrey Falcons for the first time were represented at Provincials in all three age groups. The Falcons were the only association to have 3 teams to not only participate in Provincials but to also place in Provincials. Led with Riley Hanberg and his U13 A1 team winning Gold, Bob Cameron and his U18 A1 team winning Silver, and Dean Shiels and his U15A1 team winning Bronze. That is an incredible accomplishment by all three Falcon teams and speaks to the strength of our entire association and all the players who make up the SFHA. Please join me in congratulating the U18A1, U15A1 and U13A1 on their incredible accomplishments this past season at Provincials.


We should also recognize the PCAHA Playoff Banner winners: Coach Ryan Weber U11 C1, Coach Shawn While U11 C3, Coach Riley Hanberg U13 A1, and Coach Dean Shiels U15 A1. All four teams capped off a long season with four great wins!


The COVID pandemic precluded all teams from participating in any kind of games or playoffs in the previous season so it was nice to see that all of our players were able to participate in not just regular season games this season but also the playoffs. Win or lose congratulations goes out to all girls for a great season and for competing at your highest level. You all have made the Surrey Falcons leaders in female hockey in our province.


Finally I would like to offer my congratulations to the U18 AAA Fraser Valley Rush who won the Pacific Women’s U18 Championship this past weekend at Langley Twin Rinks. The Rush were the first ever BC AAA team to beat the Alberta champions Edmonton Pandas, to win the right to represent the Pacific Region at Nationals. The 2022 U18 Esso Cup will be held in Calgary, Alberta this May. What made this accomplishment extra special was the fact that the Fraser Valley Rush consisted of 10 players and 3 coaches who are Surrey Falcon Alumni. Please join me in congratulating these 10 players and 3 coaches on their historic win and wishing them the best at next month’s Esso Cup. They are leading the way for our young Falcons!

Player Alumni:

Nauvin Bal
Julia Clauzel
Mackenzie Galick
Clara Juca
Cassandra Kehler
Hayley Lee
Katie Leroux
Sarah Leroux
Anna Mckee
Kayla White

Coach Alumni:

Tony Lindsay
Tony Wong
Kelly Leroux


Gary Mizuno, President SFHA